Small Pleasures No 4 – Birds

I was woken up at 4.00am by the sound of the rain, initially forecast as snow, but that had moved on up the country.  As I tried to get back to sleep, I kept thinking of the hare I had drawn yesterday and in my head a story of a hare and a crow began to take shape.  Finally, I drifted back to sleep in the forest.

The rain has been a frequent companion today, and the birds have kept away from the garden in sheltered spots.   At lunchtime, however, there was a break and I grabbed Mr P and the camera and went for a walk.  I couldn’t make my mind up about the camera at first, because of the rain, but I’m glad I was remembered of all the other times that I have missed a good photo opportunity.

The birds were also taking advantage of the break in the rain and the birdsong was truly uplifting.  The usual suspects about; sparrows, starlings, pigeon, collared doves.

However, I took my small pleasures on two counts; the first is the closest I have ever been to a Buzzard (that is a live one!).  As I walked past one of the old oak trees, he suddenly broke cover and flew across the field. He could only have been 3 metres away from me at the beginning and he was beautiful.  After I fumbled with my camera (being totally unprepared and lost in thought!), I managed to get a few pictures.

The second small pleasure was a very bold little robin who was singing at the top of his voice, and looking very smug in the tree.  

Leave a Reply

