Re-dressing the Balance

I spend a lot of time “in technology”.  I work in an office that, by some standards, is in the dark age when it comes to technology – we are just getting the hang of instant messaging!  However, I am regularly on email, the intranet, the extranet and conference calls.

At home, we have two laptops and a desktop computer.  Most evenings at least one of these is switched on (normally mine).  We watch TV and films and also play lots of music. G likes to play games, watch YouTube and Facebook (a little).  I use a digital camera to take pictures when I go walking – the outputs of this can be seen regularly on this blog.

I have often talked to my husband about having less technology on in the house – for him this means less TV.  For G there would be less games (he would argue that he doesn’t spend long enough on there as it is.  We restrict it quite heavily) as for me, this would mean less time looking at other peoples’ art on the internet – something I would miss a lot.

However, my sister recently sent me this book in the post to read.  She thought I would relate well to Susan Maushart who did just what I want to do.  She disconnected her house for 6 months; called “The Experiment”  she wanted to see the effect this would have on herself, and her children.  Needless to say that it has, on the whole, been a positive experience.  This is a fabulous book for anyone feeling that they are becoming swamped with technology.

For my part, I find that it is distracting me from drawing and painting which is exactly where I want to spend my time.  So it’s time to redress the balance.  Less time to look at other people’s wonderful blogs and works of art, and more time doing my art.  It may also mean less postings on my blog, but hopefully the quality will be better for this.

Before signing off today though, I would like to share a great blog that I have come across; Bigprint Little Blog is a blog by Allison Langton who is a textile designer and illustrator living in Australia.  Her illustrations are just beautiful and she has just started a new adventure.  I always think its admirable when people take a brave step in their life to fulfill their dreams.  Allison certainly seems to be doing that – have a look.

Leave a Reply

