Road Kill

It’s not often I stop at the side of the road to pick up a dead bird, but yesterday I did.  When I took G to school (yes, he goes on a Saturday!), I noticed a dead pheasant on the road just outside the village.  So, on the way back I stopped and picked him up.  Bless him, he was still warm!  However, he was very dead and it is a shame not to make use of the beautiful feathers that he had.

So, I took him home and plucked him.  Then I buried him in the garden so that the worms can eat him and leave his bones behind for me. Then I can use these too.
I know it sounds a bit gruesome, but his feathers were beautiful.  Now I have a bagful of beautiful feathers to use for my art!

Apologies to the fainthearted.

Leave a Reply

