A Pressing Matter

I’ve spent the last 8 months printing without a printing press and I now feel like I have builders arms from all that burnishing!   Burnishing is a very physical process and takes time, so when I had the opportunity to get a printing press I jumped with joy!

As I have bills to pay, my artwork is my second job and therefore the time I can dedicate to this is limited.  So, having a printing press should speed up the printing process and improve my productivity – I hope.  I bought my printing press from Great Art and it’s an ABIG PRINTING PRESS 350MM.  It’s quite a weighty creature and I’ve had to find a sturdy table to put it on.  (So glad I didn’t get rid of the old pine coffee tables in the end!).  However, it’s a lovely piece of German engineering and I’m looking forward to many days of printing in 2013.

IMG_0006IMG_0008

3 thoughts on “A Pressing Matter

  1. Hi jean. I am just trying to revive an old Abig presse in a school setting. Do I need more than one blanket? I have just purchased one, and am worried that I might need more.
    Many thanks
    Eimear

Leave a Reply

