Valuable Lessons

BlogPostHare

At the top of my blog page it says “Where success and failure are taken in equal measure – for both are learning.”  Well, I can’t think of another time that that statement is so relevant as right now.  I’ve spent a lot of time and  energy on my Moonlight Hare print and I’m still not happy with it.  At this point, I’m sure there should be some wise counsel from a little person sat on my shoulder, to tell me where I went wrong. There’s also a cost involved with mistakes so I don’t really want to be making too many of them.

So, what have I learnt with Moonlight Hare?

1.  Keep the number of prints to a small amount until you absolutely nail the registration.  I’ve just wasted 25 pieces of paper and inks. (I did think I’d sorted this but something was minutely out!) You don’t always know until the final block gets printed so you can’t really stop half way through.

2.  Spend more time up front planning.  Which I thought I had and it still wasn’t enough.

3.  Measure twice, cut once.  Be absolutely sure of what you’re doing before you put tools to lino.

Multiple block printing is a complicated process so it’s important to take your time – that’s where two jobs definitely don’t help!

Although I felt quite despondent and nearly put Moonlight Hare in a drawer, I’ve reworked a couple of the blocks and am ready to reprint.

So, everything crossed for a successful print run this time.

Leave a Reply

