If you go down to the woods today …

Jean_Stevens_CoombeWood_Sketch

Jean-Stevens_CoombeHillWood1

Jean-Stevens_CoombeHillWood

 

We are having the most glorious weather in the UK at the moment and it’s rather hot for Mr P, so I thought I’d combine two things on my To Do List – walk Mr P and do some tree studies for my next lino print.

Coombe wood is a beautiful managed wood and we go here a lot to enjoy a great walk.  If you want to know more about the wood, click here.

So, when was the last time you walked through a wood and stopped to study the different trees?  I’ve walked this wood many times and it wasn’t until this weekend that I felt I really saw the difference between all the trees.  I re-read plaques that I’ve read many times before and tried to link the information to the different trees in front of me.  To cap it all, I had a great 30 minutes drawing; sat down on the remainder of a tree trunk and watched all sorts of wildlife around me as I drew.

A good morning!

 

Leave a Reply

