Going back to basics ..

I’m not really sure where the last two weeks have gone, but they’ve definitely flown by.  There’s so much to tell you and I don’t know where to start.  So, the beginning is always a good place.

In July I jumped in the car and headed off to Art in Action, which is an annual art event held at Waterpenny House just outside Oxford.  I’d been looking forward to this event for a while and when the events brochure arrived a few weeks before, I studied it madly to highlight those artists that I really wanted to visit.  We made a family day of the outing and I was really pleased at the end of the day when it got the thumbs up from all of us.

Whilst at Art in Action, I met some printmakers whose work I had admired for a long time (and even more so now) and following those encounters I contacted one to organise spending a few days with them going back to basics.

You know sometimes how sportsmen will re-examine how they play and perhaps change their technique; Nick Faldo did this with his golf swing and completely changed his – he went on to win several major golf championships after this.  Well, I wanted to revisit my techniques and really examine how I am working.

I spent three days with Ian Phillips, a printmaker based in Wales who produces fantastic large scale prints from his studio in Machynlleth.  It won’t surprise you to know that I talked and talked and talked all the way through my three days, discussing techniques, equipment, design, etc, etc.   Ian is a great coach; very knowledgeable about his subject and great at guiding you through the process.  If you fancy spending a few days learning printmaking, why don’t you check out his website for details – just click here.

I learnt a lot and since then I’ve been re-examining my approach to many aspects of my printmaking practice.  It was a great three days and has given me some real energy for the year ahead.

I took a sketch of the fishermen’s huts in Lyme Regis to work on and I did both a black and white, and colour print of these in A4.  I’m now going to re-do this image in A3 size.  This will be my first project after Christmas so I hope that you’ll join me on this blog  and follow its progress.

Here it is currently at A4 size.

LymeRegisColour1

in colour

LymeRegisBW1

in black & white

One thought on “Going back to basics ..

  1. Pingback: 2013 – How will you remember your year? | Jean Stevens Studio Diary

Leave a Reply

