Wishing you a Merry Christmas!

RobinChristmas2013

Best Wishes for a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

A special thank you to everyone who has taken an interest in my artwork, follows my blog, follows me on Twitter, liked my Facebook page and are kind enough to leave me encouraging comments and feedback.  It’s been a great year for me and I’m working through the highlights for my final blog post of 2013.  I hope that this year has been a good year for you and that 2014 will be an even better year.

For those of you who would like to design and print your own Christmas cards, here’s my recipe;

IMG_0480

Take one small but perfectly formed dog for a walk and marvel at the hedgerow scenery all around you.

Bring home some small thumbnail sketches and work these up into a design that will fit the dimensions of your blank cards.

IMG_0502

Transfer your design to lino – remember to reverse the image or your writing will come out back to front!

I did one colour (it’s less time consuming) so I had to work out where my light and darks would print. Cut away the light areas, leave the darks.

IMG_0504

Just because your doing one colour, it doesn’t mean it needs to be black.

I wanted a Christmassy feel to the colour so I went for a rich, dark red.

Proof your print onto spare paper/card so that you can tweak it before going to your print run.

IMG_0505

When you’re happy with your proof, work out how many you will be printing and mix up enough ink to do the whole batch.

Then off you go ….

Allow to dry, Write inside and post to your nearest and dearest.

2 thoughts on “Wishing you a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

