Making promises to myself for 2014

I can already feel the calendar filling up for this year.  The linocut has been started on my next print and the bubble wrap has come out to get prints ready to travel to my next exhibition at Clavelshay Barn in the Quantocks.  Before time takes wings and disappears in front of me I want to make sure that I’m using it wisely.  I’ve made some promises to myself for 2014; it’s not a long list, but it’s an important one for me.  I’m hoping to look back at this post and see how I’ve done at the end of 2014, not just in terms of ticking off the list, but seeing how I’ve developed as an artist.

So here are my promises written ‘out loud’ to give me extra encouragement.

1.  To complete one colour print each month.  This should give me 12 new prints by the end of 2014.  It may not seem a lot but when time is limited and the colour layers are many, then prints can take a bit of time.

2.  Do some of my prints in a larger scale – this may mean that these prints will require the use of a baren.  This is quite a physical way of transferring the ink over to the paper, so I’m going to get strong arms!

3.  Take my pochade box, filled with oil paints, and go painting outdoors. I love being outdoors and I think this is a good excuse to be outside as much as possible.

4.  Do more painting and colour experimenting; I want to make the best use of time at home so developing my skills with colour mixing and use will be time well spent.

5.  Draw, draw, draw – at every opportunity – I’d love to repeat #DrawingAugust and I have a cunning plan to get some more publicity for it – so let’s see what happens.

It’s an activity packed list, and I’m looking forward to it.

What will you be doing in 2014, what promises have you made to learn something new, develop a skill you already have, or just have more fun?

On Boxing Day, I drew a picture of Tootle Bridge which is at the bottom of the hill.  Unfortunately on our walk today we couldn’t get to it due to the flooding. Here I am walking into the flood water to see how far I could go.  The water was pouring in further up as you can see from the photo and some of the nearby houses had water lapping at their doors.  I hope wherever you are, we are safe, dry and warm.

IMG_1813

2 thoughts on “Making promises to myself for 2014

  1. I was thinking of trying to aim for a new print a month, to give me five new ones by June, when the Northampton wing of #DrawingAugust are hoping to have an exhibition! I only have weekends to work on them mainly so it will be a bit of a stretch I think…
    I also plan to take part in art projects more, so that I interact with and learn from other artists. I’ve joined a sketchbook circle, sent postcard works to the #Twitartexhibit, Ty Gobaith and the Surface gallery this week.
    I’m glad you have big plans for #DrawingAugust 2014 – it was such a great month, and I’ve enjoyed the subsequent #s too.
    Good luck with your resolutions!

Leave a Reply

