Pheasant Linocut – Colour Layer Number three

Well, I know it’s quite a bright looking yellow on the glass plate, but when it’s printed over the two browns it will calm down a bit.  This is colour layer number three – a touch of yellow to give some feathers a highlight and colour to the eyeball.  I’ve mixed Intaglio Printmaker inks – Lemon Yellow and Warm Red (a tiny bit of this) just to add a bit of depth to the yellow.  Still I’d better get a move on or February will be over before I know it.

IMG_0666

Here’s the lino rolled and ready to print

IMG_0665

Colour Layer Number 3

Only another four or five, Hmmm, maybe 6 layers to go!

5 thoughts on “Pheasant Linocut – Colour Layer Number three

    • Hi Linda, sometimes you start off with good intentions, I was hoping to finish it before the end of February but a few days out of the studio next week will make it difficult. Glad you’re enjoying it.

  1. I look forward to seeing the remaining stages and the finished image. I am an amateur artist and do block cutting but don’t think I would have the patience to work in more than one ink colour.

    • Hi there, it’s starting to come together now, I’m pleased you’re enjoying the journey. All the layers will hopefully add to the richness of the print, so it’s worth it for that! Give it a go, you’ll be surprised at how much patience you have.

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. Perhaps I will at some point. I have four young sons so finding the time to even do anything creative can be a challenge in itself. Your work is certainly inspiring.

Leave a Reply

