New Linocut – Great Spotted Woodpecker

It’s great to have wildlife on your doorstep.  I often hear the woodpeckers when I’m sat in the sun room, garden or walking the dog.  However, I was lucky to have some time on my hands yesterday morning to sit and watch this woodpecker moving around the nearby gardens as he tapped away on this tree and then another few.

They have been easy to spot due to the contrast of their colours with the green surrounding them.  The lens on my camera isn’t powerful enough to get a really close shot, but I was able to make some sketches using my binoculars.  It was a bit hap hazard though so I’m going to rely on my photos and reference books for the detail.

I’m looking forward to this print!

Jean_Stevens_Woodpecker

Leave a Reply

