#DrawingAugust 2014

How time flies when we are all busy doing our thing.

It’s been over a year since #DrawingAugust was born and although it didn’t officially start until the 1st of August 2013, there was much chatter and tweeting about it.  We’ve now come full circle and the art community moved from #DrawingAugust to #PaintSeptember, #PrintOctober  et al but I thought it would be good to restart the virtuous circle that we have all created for ourselves and pose a question for you.

Who is interested in doing #DrawingAugust 2014?

It’s the same as last year.  For the month of August, you try your hardest to produce a drawing/sketch every day and post it on Twitter with the # (hashtag) #DrawingAugust.  By using the hashtag, people can easily find your drawing and keep supporting each other throughout the month with comments, retweets, favourites etc.  The whole aim is to get people drawing.  There’s no preset skill level required, it really is a supportive community that wants to encourage others to pick up a pencil, or whatever medium you wish to draw with, and get drawing.

I had a great time last year, and I have carried on drawing/sketching wherever I can.  Sometimes I’m more disciplined than others, but I always aim to carry my sketchbook & pens with me and draw when I can.

This was my effort last year;

DrawingAugustCollective

If you want to see more posts on this, just pick #DrawingAugust from the category list on the right hand side of the blog and scroll through.  Even better, type in #DrawingAugust on the search in Twitter and have a look at some great drawing.   Ian Gordon Craig set up a Pinterest Board with a selection of drawings too, so if you want to see these click here.  Wales Arts Review published an article which was just brilliant and a great way to end #DrawingAugust 2013 – you never know Gary Raymond, the Editor might even join in this year!

So, if you’d like to take part in #DrawingAugust 2014, just comment on this blog post or send me at tweet – @JeanStevens4  – you can find me here

It would be really good to produce another list of participants and also to see if we can get the group above last years total, which if I remember was about 230 – I think I’ll go away and look that number up!

As is often said at the end of letters/emails …. I look forward to hearing from you!

32 thoughts on “#DrawingAugust 2014

  1. Your sketches look wonderful! I would be happy to participate in such a challenge (even though I am not on Twitter) but August is going to be crazy for me. However, you have inspired me to attempt a drawing a day in September once all of my kids are in school and we (touch wood) should be ensconced in our new house. My kids set me a challenge, a couple of years ago, to draw a zombie a week throughout the year and it really was good to have that impetus to draw so frequently. So I am definitely ready to try a drawing per day when times allows. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. I’d love to take part, as soon as I get my head around Twitter, never used it before, this is a most interesting challange! I look forward to it.

  3. If I have done the Twitter account right (?), my name should be M. Carmen Santos @2_mcs, apologies for not doing it through Twitter just jet, I don’t quite know how to handle it for the moment. Thanks.

    • Hi Alison, I’ve added you to the list. I hope you enjoy #DrawingAugust – it was great fun last year and so many people have embraced a whole plethora of art experiences throughout the last 12 months. J

Leave a Reply

