Plein Air Painting

Instead of making a New Years resolution, I set about to make myself some promises for 2014.  Things I wanted to try and some targets I wanted to achieve (sounds like a New Years resolution to me!).

One of my promises was to “Take my pochade box, filled with oil paints, and go painting outdoors.”   I was such a southern softie that I didn’t go out in January, February or March (a bit cold) and then we had some very sad family times in April and May so family took priority.  So, then we were in June and I still hadn’t taken my box out.  However, I was pleased to spend a few days with Haidee-Jo Summers in Staithes at the end of June and we spent three days painting in between the rain.  I have a real admiration for plain air painters as there is so much to prepare for and think about, much more so than being in the studio.  I’ve come home with three unfinished paintings and three sketches ready for painting.  So, apologies that I don’t have a finished piece to show you yet.  However, here’s a sneaky look of one painting in progress.

IMG_0952

I have to say, I loved these little boats although they looked very neglected.  The green boat was full of water and looked in need of some tender loving care.  This painting is now on the easel in the studio waiting to be finished.  Hopefully that won’t be very long away.

If you have a spare moment and want to see what fantastic plein air painting looks like, take at look at Haidee-Jo’s work here.

And if you’re wondering what the rain looked like – here it is!

IMG_0942

4 thoughts on “Plein Air Painting

Leave a Reply

