#DrawingAugust – Day 18 & 19

IMG_1213Day 18

Wet on Wet painting of a lovely gerbora plant I picked up at the nursey.  In fact, I bought two!

This is quite a loose painting as I only drew faint pencil lines for guidance and then off I went with the paint.

Great fun!

Painted in my 7x7in Stillman & Birn Delta Series Sketchbook – it can take a lot of water.

 

IMG_1219Day 19

Lincoln

Drawn in Platinum Carbon Ink (which is waterproof) and then painted with St Petersburgh Watercolours

This is painted in my A4 Moleskine sketchbook which can’t take quite as much water as the Delta but I like the length you can draw over when you open it up completely.

It’s funny seeing these two paintings together as they couldn’t look more wrong.  The flowers in 18cm x 18cm, Lincoln is 45 x 21cm (the book itself is 59 x 21cm).  No wonder Lincoln took quite a while to do today.  I meandered my way through this drawing for a long time and that’s what makes it ‘tight’.  When I am rushed I tend to be comfortable with wiggly lines and things not being quite right – I think I prefer that to a tidy painting.  Next time I must make myself work quicker.

4 thoughts on “#DrawingAugust – Day 18 & 19

  1. I think both paint sketches are great. I love the fluidity of the gerbera and the detail and perspective of the town. I have an innate tendency to work in a very tight and controlled way and need to do exercises ever so often to loosen me up. That, for me, was one of the major benefits of attending life drawing class – something I very much miss.

Leave a Reply

