Monoprinting – or how to get really messy in the studio!

LunnsWood2

Lunns Wood #1

I’m like a nature kleptomaniac.  My studio is just full of bits of plants, feathers, leaves, nuts (I think I am) that I’ve collected on my daily walks with Mr P.  I really enjoy using this “stuff” to create monotypes (if it’s a one off) or monoprints (if there’s a series). So, there are three of these altogether so I think I’d better call them Lunns Wood #1, #2 and #3.  I’ll show you another tomorrow night.

The thing about producing these prints is you tend to get quite messy but they’re great fun to do and all the better when they turn out well!  I use the press to squish all the plants flat – the teasels are cut in half to begin with so that there’s less to squash under the roller.

I often do these monoprints/types in black ink but I think I quite like this green.   Let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “Monoprinting – or how to get really messy in the studio!

Leave a Reply

