Lunns Wood #3

LunnsWood3

Here’s the final print.  Lots of shades of green and I especially like the purple ink showing on the teasel and the grass seeds at the bottom of the prints.  These prints have all gone off to the framers ready to hang in the A2 gallery in the Spring.  Now all I have to do is think about the colour of the mount and frames.

I’ve been doing some painting recently and I’ll be posting them here … some will be available to bid for in auctions, I’ve not done auctions before so it’ll be interesting to see how these work out.

2 thoughts on “Lunns Wood #3

  1. Hello Jean,

    These are quite brilliant, but I would love to know how these have been achieved in greater detail. What is the difference between a monotype and a monoprint?

    All my very best wishes for the success of your auctions,

    Alec

    • Hi Alec
      Thank you for the lovely feedback. I produce my monotypes/prints using a plastic sheet which I cover with a thin layer of ink. I then put my objects directly onto this, place a piece of paper on top and push it through the press. I usually discard this print as it’s not very detailed. I then carefully remove all the objects from the plastic sheet and then put a new piece of paper on top of the sheet. I then run this back through the press. All the great detail comes from the objects being pressed tightly onto the plastic and the features being captured in the thin layer of ink. A monotype is very much a “one off” but a monoprint can be a series of slightly different prints but essentially from the same base point. Hope that helps. I’ll try and do a blog post with pictures so that you can see the process.

Leave a Reply

