Flight

 

Flight2

Flight

7″ x 7″

Monotype

I’m sure I’ve told you that I have a large box of feathers under my desk and every so often I pick one that looks like it will make an interesting shape when printed.  Just like this one has. I love the orderly structure at the top of the feather and then as you look down you come to this area of chaos.  It almost looks like the bird is frantically trying to take flight.  Well, that’s what I think, but I’ll leave  you to find your own subliminal messages!

I’m in the middle of a print but it hasn’t gone well today so I’ve abandoned it for the evening so that I can have a rethink.  I’ve spoiled two of the actual prints as the ink wouldn’t cover the previous layers, and I just can’t work out why it is.

The best course of action for me in these situations has always been to stop, clean up, walk away and mull it over.  Needless to say that I’ll be having a groundhog day tomorrow but with a change to the colour mix.  I’m not sure if it’s something to do with the white ink that I’ve mixed with the ultramarine blue.  I’ll soon find out tomorrow though and if I can’t get it to work I’m going to have to abandon the print.  This is always frustrating but better to do this than suffer mediocre work.

Fingers crossed for tomorrow x

2 thoughts on “Flight

Leave a Reply

