Mupe Bay, Dorset – A new Lino cut

Mupe Bay in Dorset has to be one of the most idyllic beaches I have every been to in England.  It is only accessible by walking the mile or so from Lulworth Cove (which is very busy).  I think it’s peacefulness is helped by the fact it is tricky to get to and is visits are also curtailed by the Lulworth Firing Range which closes the path to this beach when in use.

Having passed the fossil forest, we made our way down to the beach and it’s here that I happily sketched while my fellow walkers sat down to take in the scenery.

IMG_3405

As always, my mind starts wandering and I begin to image a possible lino cut, and so it begins…..

IMG_3455sketchbook drawings

IMG_3460

initial design layout

Leave a Reply

