Petit Paintings – Tea for Three

IMG_3976

Tea for Three

Oil on Canvas Board

6″ x 6″

I started this year hoping to develop my painting skills and as always, for one reason or another I haven’t moved on as quickly as I would have liked.  I’d like to be a lot looser with my style and that generally comes with practice.   I have, however, enjoyed painting these tea cups.

They were amongst my mothers china that we sorted out when she passed away.  The colour of the cups is fabulous and although all three cups are identical, they reflect such differences of light so as to make them look very different shades.

There’s still a couple of corrections I’d like to make, and the beauty of oil painting is that I’ll be able to do this over the next couple of days.  For now though, I’m satisfied.  I’ll leave you to guess what those corrections are … feel free to leave your comments on what those might be!

It makes a nice change to do these, gives me a break from printmaking.  So, if you’d like to see more of these, let me know too!

Here’s some photos of the painting evolving.

 

I did enjoy this first thing this morning, but it wasn’t long until I was back at the Christmas print production line.  I’m hoping that that’ll be it for a few days.  Who knew that the Christmas card (print) sending list was suddenly so long! I’m glad my dining table can take this many prints.

PPT1 copy

Partridge In a Pear Tree, Christmas Print

Leave a Reply

