Aquatint Etching – Sunflower

Jean_Stevens_Sunflower

Sunflower  – Aquatint Etching 15cmx29cm

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted. I’ve been under the weather with a cold and haven’t lifted my brushes or rollers for a week.  I printed this etching last Wednesday and realised I hadn’t posted it.  I love etchings for their drawn quality but they take a considerable amount of time to produce.  Although I only worked on this a couple of hours each week, it has taken several weeks to produce and I’ve decided to keep the edition small (less than 10).  It’ll be available in my Folksy shop soon.

Jean_Stevens_Etching_Plate_Sunflowers

Here’s a photo of the steel plate that I used.  It’s gone through several layers of development from the initial drawing through to the aquatint resin.

 

Leave a Reply

